You are here

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (BOD) is responsible for the governance and management of the activities and affairs of CAREB-ACCER as a non-profit corporation.

In general terms, this means providing strategic planning, developing and implementing policy, contributing to committee work and special initiatives, and supervising staff. CAREB-ACCER Board members must become engaged in the business and financial affairs of the CAREB-ACCER Corporation in executing this governance role. Board members are expected to take on a portfolio or special project and attend board and committee meetings. The time commitment entails at least 10 hours per month throughout the year, and mandatory in-person attendance at the National Conference and AGM, and Board Retreats.

In accordance with Section 4.3 of the CAREB-ACCER Bylaws (2013), members shall elect by ordinary resolution, at each annual general meeting (AGM) at which an election of directors is required, directors for a term of one, two, or three years. The Board may designate the officers of the Association, appointing officers from amongst the elected directors. A director is eligible to serve for a maximum of three consecutive terms and then eligible for re-election to the Board after an absence of on year. When positions on the Board come open, a general call is put out for nominations to be presented on a slate at the next AGM. 


2019-2020 Board of Directors

President: Delilah Ofosu-Barko, Trillium Health Partners, Toronto, Ontario

Past-president: Catherine Paquet, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario

Secretary: Charmaine Kabatoff, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta

Treasurer:  Sharon Newman, Health Research Ethics Authority, St. John's, NL

Vice Presidents: 

Julie Joza, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario (Operations)

Janice Moseley, Ontario Tech University, Oshawa, Ontario (Business and Education)


Jonathan Dewar, First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC), Ottawa, ON (Member at large)

Melissa Dobson, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Edmonton, Alberta (co-Director, Conference Planning)

Katarin MacLeod, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia (Director, Education)

Stacey Page, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta (Director, Membership)

Guillaume Paré, Polytechnique Montréal, Montréal, Québec (Member at large)

Dawn Pollon, Island Health, Victoria, British Columbia (co-Director, Conference Planning)

Diana Raymond-Watts, DRW & Associates, Ajax, Ontario (Director, Communications)


Past Presidents

President Term
Catherine Paquet 2018-2020
Lori Walker 2015-2018
Rachel Zand 2013-2015
Ken Jenkins 2012-2013
Sharon Freitag & Ken Jenkins 2011-2012
Sharon Freitag 2010-2011
Alex Karabanow 2009-2010
Susan Marlin 2008-2009
Laurel Evans 2007-2008
Gilles Morier 2006-2007
Patricia Lindley 2005-2006
Margo Farren 2004-2005
Susan Hoddinott 2003-2004
Raphael Saginur 2002-2003